Honors 2015

All District
Academic All-District
Defensive Player
Eagle Pride Award

Most Improved Player
Most Valuable Player - JV Gold
Most Valuable Player - JV Navy
Most Valuable Player - Varsity

Offensive Player
Outstanding Service Awards
Tournament Awards
Eagles Class of 2015


Eagle Pride Award

Selected by the members of the Eagle teams as the embodiment of what makes it special to be a baseball player at Akins High School. The 2015 Eagle Pride Award goes to Christian Suttles.

Past Winners
2014 Christian Martinez
2013 George Palacios
2012 R.C. Medrano
2011 Justin Pecchia
2010 Michael Mancilla
2009 J.T. Garcia
2008 Michael Arriaga


Christian Suttles

2007 Ben Kwiatkowski
2006 Matt Cavazos
2005 Matt Hohertz
2004 Marcus Flores
2003 Clint McFerrin
2002 Jonathan Ramos


Austin McNicholas

Adam Ivey

Past Winners
2014 2ND TEAM Michael Garcia,
       Austin McNicholas
2013 2ND TEAM Jonathan Candelas,
       Austin McNicholas
2010 2ND TEAM Corey Pinson,
       Lorenzo Mendoza,
       Chris Cullen


All District

Coaches from the nine teams in District 14-6A vote each year on this honor. For their 2015 season performances, Adam Ivey (pitcher) and Austin McNicholas (shortstop) were selected to the 1st Team.

2008 1ST TEAM Brandon Rivera,
       Randy Berg, Tyler Pinson
2ND TEAM   Kyle Smith
2007 1ST TEAM   Brandon Rivera
2ND TEAM   Randy Berg
2006 Jacob Saldaña
2005 Airrik Martinez

Defensive Player of the Year

Selected by the members of the Eagle baseball teams, the winner for 2015 is Adam Ivey. A right-handed pitcher, Adam finished the season with a record of 5-3 and an ERA of 1.44.

Offensive Player of the Year

Austin McNicholas was selected for this honor by members of the Eagle baseball teams. Austin finished the season with a .429 batting average and 15 RBIs. His slugging average was .679 and he led the 2015 Eagles with an on-base percentage of 57%


Past Winners
2014 Rene Castro
2013 Jonathan Candelas
2012 Paul Castro
2011 Paul Castro
2010 Jeremy Rubio
2009 Julian Gonzales
2008 Randy Berg

Adam Ivey

2007 Randy Berg
2006 Jacob Saldaña
2005 Jason Rangel
2004 Emmanuel Hernandez
2003 James Mudrak
2002 Philip Canty

Tournament Awards

Austin McNicholas

Past Winners
2014 Adam Gutierrez
2013 Rene Castro
2012 Daniel Lopez
2011 Roger Herrera
2010 Chris Cullen
2009 Corey Pinson
2008 Kyle Smith

2007 Ulises Castillo
2006 Randy Berg
2005 Charles Morton
2004 Airrik Martinez
2003 Marcus Flores
2002 James Mudrak

San Antonio ISD Tournament

Austin ISD Tournament

This year’s tournament fell victim to poor weather. Eagles played just one SAISD tournament game.

Past SAISD Tournament honors
2014 Eagles win consolation bracket
2013 Eagles take 3rd place in tournament
2008 Eagles take 2nd place in tournament


No Eagle was named as an AISD All-Tournament selection for the 2015 tourney.

Past Winners
2014 none
2013 none
2012 none
2011 Blake Hoffman / Robert Franco


Most Valuable Player
   - JV Navy

The Most Valuable Player for the 2015 Akins Eagles Junior Varsity Navy team is Nate Flores.

Most Valuable Player
   - JV Gold

The Most Valuable Player award for the 2015 Akins Eagles Junior Varsity Gold team goes to Jason Castilla.

Past Winners
2014 Rene Franco
2013 Michael Garcia
2012 Jonathan Candelas
2011 Rene Castro
2010 Tim Jackson

Nate Flores

2009 Roger Herrera
2008 Corey Pinson
2007 Jorge Mendoza

2004 Brandon Stewart

Jason (J.J.) Castilla

Past Winners
2014 Alejandro Martinez / Nate Flores
2013 Niko Olvera / Adam Ivey
2012 Michael Garcia
2011 Ryan Gomez
2010 David Garza

2009 Paul Castro
2008 Jeremy Mendez
2007 Jesse Barba

2004 Chris Small


Most Improved Player

Selected by the members of the Eagle squads. The 2015 choice is Dylan Bryden.

Dylan Bryden

Past Winners
2014 Michael Garcia
2013 Andreas Duran
2012 Billy Ferren
2011 Robert Franco
2010 Freddy Zamora / Frank Gutierrez
2009 Martin Martinez
2008 Bryant Alvarez
2007 Matt Diaz
2006 Daniel Guerra / Brandon Stewart
2005 Chris Thompson
2004 Justin Jimenez
2003 Nick Larocque
2002 Luis Garcia


Most Valuable Player
   - Varsity

The Most Valuable Player for the 2015 Akins Eagles Varsity team is Austin McNicholas.

Austin McNicholas

Past Winners
2014 Rene Castro
2013 Austin McNicholas
2012 Tim Jackson
2011 Roger Herrera
2010 Jeremy Rubio
2009 Jeremy Rubio
2008 Tyler Pinson

2007 Brandon Rivera
2006 Daniel Fabian / Martin Salinas
2005 Airrik Martinez
2004 Charles Morton
2003 Jason Rangel
2002 Frank Johnson


Academic All District

Awarded to players who maintain a 90% average or above in the classroom. Eagle players Austin Scully and Austin McNicholas are recognized for their 2015 academic performances.

Austin McNicholas

Austin Scully

TopAkins Baseball Welcome page |


Outstanding Service Awards

Past Winners
2006 Mike Smith
         Melissa Cavazos
2005 Robert Rangel
         Craig Hohertz
         Laurie Hohertz
         Cheryl Martinez
         Christine Morton

WWW.AKINSBASEBALL.ORG   ENTIRE SITE COPYRIGHT © 2015 R.A. MORTON. All rights reserved. No portion may be reproduced without permission.